Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Mama failed miserably at adventure

21 Comments

Katie here.  Mama promised me an adventure this weekend.  She’s been so busy we haven’t done anything fun in forever!

So this morning she said we were going to the park.  I got so excited, running in circles, getting under her feet, running from door to door because I couldn’t figure out what door we were going to use that she forgot to bring my treats!  Failure #1 Mama!

Then we stopped at my favorite park and I was so excited I ran around in circles and got all tangled up and Mama kept saying something about having to pee and I figured she was talking about her so I kept running in circles, winding the leash all around her.  Then I figured out she meant she wanted me to pee, so I did, and then she hustled me back to the car!  What the heck?!  Failure #2 Mama!

So we drove for a long time and finally she parked and got me out of the car.  We were at her favorite park, high up on a hill and it was windy and cold.  Just my kind of weather!  I dragged her down the hill, she kept saying ‘easy….easy’  cause she was afraid of falling – it was really slippery.  When we got to the bottom of the hill I wanted to sniff everywhere, but there was lots of mud and Mama kept saying she was cold.  And she had that stupid camera too, so I didn’t get to sniff around too much.  Failure #3 Mama!  And on top of all of that, this is the only picture of me you’ll see from this” great” adventure.  See our car way up there?

She made me sit up here.  I didn't like it.

She made me sit up here. I didn’t like it.

So Mama bundled me right back in the car again!  I was disgusted.  She drove around some more and then we got out in a more sheltered place and walked for awhile on the bike path.  We saw lots of people out running and walking.  I even got to bark at a couple of cars, but then she yelled at me and made me go back to our car.  Geesh.  Failure #4 Mama!

So all in all this was not that great an adventure.  I think she owes me another one.

What do you think?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Mama failed miserably at adventure

  1. Yep ! She definitely owes you a better adventure – heck I think she might even owe you two!

    Like

  2. Katie, if you would get a part-time job and contribute to the household expenses, maybe your mama wouldn’t have to work so hard!

    Like

  3. Oh Katie, you sure do have to put up with a lot. Still, I bet it was better than staying home all day.

    Hopefully your next adventure is more to your satisfaction 🙂

    Like

  4. I don’t believe you are at all disappointed Katie. I think you probably would be happy to do almost anything with your Mom

    Like

  5. Katie I sure hope you’re not being too hard on your Mama. But, perhaps if you’re super-sweet, she’ll find an amazing adventure for both of you soon!

    Like

  6. I think your mom deserves a gold star for even going outside in that kind of weather.

    Like

  7. Dear Katie girl, I think your mom is much much better than my mom as she has at least made some efforts. You won’t believe that I haven’t had any walkies for more than a week and I heard a soft whisper between the two peeps that I might get out of the house on Saturday but to the groomers. How miserable is that?

    ~Eva

    Like

  8. At least you got to sit pretty on the picnic table for a picture. We’ve never done that before — that must have been an adventure in itself.

    Like

  9. Dallas here. I envy you, Katie. You mama might have failed in your eyes, but at least you got out. My mama says this snow and ice isn’t good for my feeties, nor is the cold air good for my lungs, and she uses those EXCUSES as reasons not to take me on an adventure! Can you believe that? So I’ve been listening to the weather people, who claim it’s going to be warmer this weekend, and I’m expecting my mama to remedy my boredom — what do you think?

    Like

  10. Katie, I think your problem is seasonal, and things will soon get better. In the meantime, please try to be patient with your mama – she has a lot on her plate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

