Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Saw a pilated woodpecker today!

10 Comments

It was so cool!  Have you ever seen one?  I did not have a camera with me which was a shame, because he was RIGHT THERE and it would have been a great shot.  Here, I’ll find you a picture of one from the web:

woodpeckerI’m sure my photo would have looked just like this.  Of course.

Anyway…isn’t he cool!  He’s quite large, and very distinctive.  You can learn more about him here.

This is the kind of thing I would have called and told my Mom about in the old days.  I’ve seen this bird only twice before; once at her lake house down in Alabama and once up in Northport along the ridge above Lake Michigan.

Since I can’t tell her about it I’m sharing with you.  I know many of you are bird people, so you’ll appreciate how excited I was.

It’s still making me smile.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Saw a pilated woodpecker today!

  1. Cool!!!! I heard one today, but couldn’t find him. They are magnificent.

    Someone a few miles away from me saw an eagle yesterday….so jealous! I’ve only seen one in the wild once, and it was in California. Someday…..I hope.

    Like

  2. Have never seen one of those – I think on sparrows and robins live around here – although I did see that teeny tiny hummingbird last year .

    Like

  3. I’ve only seen them a couple or three times and was excited each time. They are so HUGE, aren’t they? And BRIGHT! And so comical. All without the least self-awareness of how big and beautiful and funny they are. Glad you had the great sighting, Dawn, and thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  4. Glad you got to see Woody the Woodpecker! There are quite a few here in Okefenokee. 🙂

    Like

  5. I am smiling ear to ear! So glad that you were able to see one. And I know your pic would have been MUCH better than this one. 🙂 I always think they look like prehistoric creatures flying through the woods. Love them, except when they destroy the wood siding on the house. Then they are Bad Birds. 😦

    Like

  6. He is so beautiful!

    Like

  7. I’ve been hearing woodpeckers but haven’t seen them. Lucky you! Isn’t it something how we long to tell our news to somebody special but can’t because they’re no longer with us? I do that a lot, with my dad. And there are so many things I long to discuss with him, things I want to ask his advice on, things I’d like to tell him to make him smile. Sigh.

    Like

  8. I have never seen one in real life, but would love to! Thank you for sharing – and you can still tell your mom about it, I’m certain she’s listening.

    Like

  9. We have an old, more or less dead tree at the back of our lot that should be cut down, but it is home to several wood peckers so the tree stays.
    My dad is a life long birder with an impressive life list so I feel fortunate to be able to call him when I see a new bird hanging out…you’ve remind me to be ever so grateful for those phone calls.
    Your pilated woodpecker is very cool, and I am imaging that picture is your picture! Because it could be….

    Like

Leave a Reply

