Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Bored

24 Comments

There's nothing to do.

There’s nothing to do.

Katie is bored.  Tomorrow we’re going to school; it’s been two weeks.  I’ve been too busy with music and work to play.  She’s all wound up.  School should be interesting.

Right now she’s barking at me.  She wants to DO SOMETHING!

Sigh...

Sigh…

We already played fetch for what seemed forever.  Till I accidentally threw both her balls at once.  She doesn’t like having to make a choice so that game was over.

Boring.

Boring.

Then her dad has been tossing her one of her stuffies.  That lasted till he threw it too close to the fireplace.  She doesn’t really like the fireplace (it wasn’t there BEFORE Mama!) so that game was over.

So now she’s decided to just stand and bark at us.  In case we can come up with something new and exciting.

Don't want to play with my toys .

Don’t want to play with my toys .

Unfortunately she is the dog of boring parents.

But this weekend I promised her we’d go on an adventure.   Guess I should figure out what that is exactly.  Because she’ll be waiting.

Oh yea.

Wanna play?

Wanna play?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

24 thoughts on “Bored

  1. Katie’s a beauty. Bring her over to play with Emma, and they could wear each other out!

    Like

  2. A Sheltie “worn out?” I doubt it!

    Like

    • She’s napping now…after a full morning of school and watching her Mama cook. Naps are good. But tomorrow is adventure day so I’m afraid she’s resting up.

      Like

  3. I already love Katie yet I’ve never met her! She sounds so much like my Darling Dallas. Too bad we don’t live closer, because he’d be glad to entertain her while us boring parents did something boring like talking and having a cup of tea or something!

    Like

  4. Even Katie has cabin fever! It must be time to get outside again.
    We’re getting in the last of our skiing before spring really takes over. Hope your adventure is up to Katie’s standards 🙂

    Like

    • Enjoy your skiing. Somehow I think you’ll have plenty of snow for a few more weeks. I’m worried about Katie’s standards too. Have to start planning this adventure.

      Like

  5. Oh Katie, hope you have a fun day today! You do a really good job at making your mom feel guilty 🙂

    Like

  6. Yup lots of bored shelties here too. Java whines when she is bored. Ugh!

    Like

  7. Katie when bored looks a lot like Sarah when she gets into what I call her “sulky teen” mode. Her expression says very clearly to me, “Oh, Mom! You’re so BORING!” One day this week I gave her a bath, which she endured patiently although it wasn’t the kind of excitement she had in mind, and then afterward she was just as bored as ever, because what with winter hours and my cold we hadn’t been to the bookstore for SIX DAYS! She was ready to get back to work yesterday!

    The good thing for us is that all their energy makes demands on us we would not otherwise make on ourselves.

    Like

    • Sarah’s got that look down, ey? Yes, Katie should be careful what she asks for. Not all adventures are the fun kind…she needs to go to the groomer….

      Like

  8. We hope you have a good day today, Katie!

    I’m going to ask my mom whether I could go play with you. I’m so bored at home too. May be two of us can team up and make our moms go nuts.

    ~Eva

    Like

  9. Ricky has a lot of rules that end games before we know it. Hope Katie enjoys school today and her big adventure!

    Like

    • Isn’t it weird. When we’re getting tired of throwing the toy or the ball all we have to do is toss it out in the foyer and she goes after it but doesn’t bring it back and then she just goes and lays down. Silly girl.

      Like

  10. We could definitely use an adventure around here too! I feel Katie’s pain, lol.

    Like

  11. You need to teach her the ”find it’ game – where you hide treats all over the place and she has to find them.

    Like

  12. My big furry girls have the same complaint – boring parents, never get to go out and have adventures, life is so hard. Sometimes they just have to take it upon themselves to go up the road and visit their other family – the ones who give treats and lots of attention.

    Like

    • Ah. She’s not allowed to go visit the neighbors. I doubt she even realizes we HAVE neighbors! So she’s stuck with us. Oh wait. She does know about one neighbor…she’s in love with Jack, a guy across the street. If he’s outside when we’re out we have to go visit. Extra silly girl, because he’s not a dog guy, but he likes her.

      Like

Leave a Reply

