Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Looking for hints

21 Comments

Early morning snow.

Early morning snow.

Benjamin and Lassiter’s Mom looked at my Wordless Wednesday photo on the tiny screen of her phone and thought it was geese winging their way north, signifying spring.  Ah well.  Which got me to thinking.  Some of us in the northern reaches of the world wouldn’t mind a hint of spring about now.

This morning I woke to another couple inches of fresh sticky snow with more coming down.  It is pretty  but it is snow.  More snow.  And as much as I know the snow is good for us and our state crops and our lake levels I am beginning to wish for little green sprouts.  I know.  It’s way too early and if things were sprouting or bursting into flower here on the last day of February we’d be in the same predicament we were last year when everything woke too early and then was killed in the next so predictable freeze.

Still.  If you’re in a part of the country where spring is legitimately beginning maybe you could share a bit of it with us?  We like to think of it creeping toward us; town by town, county by county, state by state.  Anticipation is the best part and we will enjoy our own spring so much more if you share some of yours.

What’s happening down south?  Are you enjoying those first warm breezes that smell of new grass and mud?  Do you have peepers in your pond yet?  Have you heard the blackbird sing?

Let us know.  It will make shoveling that sidewalk – again- just a bit easier.

Sticky early morning snow.

Sticky early morning snow.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Looking for hints

  1. The peepers have been singing off and on since January, but we’re scheduled to get a hard freeze this weekend. Spring is inching forward here in Georgia. 🙂

    Like

  2. I checked yesterday and our trees have their buds starting to fill out and our grass is turning green again – SNOW – what is snow?

    Like

  3. You may have inspired me to do more looking at road trips of days gone by. I remember spring! Saw it once in Georgia!

    Like

  4. My mom (in southern OH) asked me a week or so ago if there were any plants I’d like her to start for me. What a joke! We laughed heartily, as we are still COMPLETELY buried in snow here. So, yes, I’ll enjoy some vicarious spring, thankyouverymuch. I *am* going to Atlanta in April, so that will be nice!

    Like

    • My Mom used to plant peas in Alabama in February while I was still digging the car out of snow banks in the Upper Peninsula. 🙂 Not that she was gloating or anything.

      Like

  5. Our snow finally melted in the rains that came the past few days. Still, it’s cold. And dreary. And they’re predicting MORE snow for the bulk of March. I guess that means I’d better warm the shovel up again! Sigh.

    Like

  6. On Monday I saw wild snow drops and marsh marigolds just starting to bloom in the ravine of a park here. But the temps still don’t hint at spring.

    Like

  7. I see daffodil tips!!!!!!

    Oh yea, apparently seeing skunks during daylight is a sign of spring.

    Like

  8. Daffodils are blooming around here. Brother already had narcissus bloom. I saw a green leaf sprouting out of a tree today! Spring is on its way to you from Georgia.

    Like

  9. Were getting a cold blast and we are looking forward to it. Then of course are cold blasts are late spring by you.

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  10. For someone like me living in a place with NO winter at all, I love your snow. Will send you some sunshine if I could 🙂

    Like

  11. Wow our comment about the Geese formation was the topic of your blog post — how pawsome is that! At mom’s work in Philadelphia, the Daffodils are starting to come out of the ground. Not blooming, just peaking thru the ground. Mommy has noticed a lot of black type of birds in the trees in NJ. They must be telling us Spring is on the way. (Thankfully we don’t have any snow on the ground in NJ or Philly.)

    Like

  12. I wouldn’t mind a hint of spring right now. You can *almost* feel it in the air up north, but not quite. I told my husband it was time for Spring. He told me I couldn’t dare wish for spring for two more weeks because of ice fishing. (I’ll secretly wish.)

    Like

  13. Winter continues, but days are coming longer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

