Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Don’t want to jinx it

11 Comments

Our community band plays a concert tomorrow night and then we’re on to the band festival Saturday morning.  We’ve had several weeks of solid rehearsals including this past Tuesday.  I don’t know when I’ve felt so prepared.

Which begs the question…good dress rehearsal…bad performance?  Of course not!  And really, Friday night IS rather like a dress rehearsal for Saturday’s event.  Still, I hope we play our hearts out tomorrow night for family and friends…and still keep some in reserve for the next morning too.

Wish us luck.  And if you’re around…7:00 Clarkston High School Friday night.  It’s free.

Resting and waiting for tomorrow.

Resting and waiting for tomorrow.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Don’t want to jinx it

  1. When I was in high school and involved in orchestra and theatre, we loved to say (especially the theatre crowd) “Break a leg!” before performances. At my present age and at midwinter in Michigan, I’ll simply wish you all the best, confident that you will rise to the occasion and do yourselves proud. And enjoy!!!

    Like

  2. You guys will be great!

    Sending you a round of applause 🙂

    Like

  3. Break a leg Dawn!

    Like

  4. Good luck! Mommy only knows brass instruments — she would always remind herself before a concert — make sure to bring your trombone mouthpiece — but I guess clarinets don’t use mouthpiece’s. Make sure to bring your clarinet reed thingy!!!!

    Like

  5. Good luck with both performances! I always told myself, Bad rehearsal, good performance. Don’t know whether that was actually true, or me just wishing, ha!

    Like

  6. these things ALWAYS have a way of coming out fine on the night and isn’t it more about the joy of playing?

    Like

  7. Enjoy! You’re going to be wonderful!

    Like

  8. Wishing you all of the good…and most of all lots of FUN!

    Like

  9. I am sure you did great 🙂 Hope to hear how it went soon!

    Like

  10. I DO wish you luck. I don’t even know you! but the hope you have, I’m feeling for you.

    ** GOOD LUCK ***

    🙂

    Like

  11. Doesn’t sound like you jinxed it ONE bit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

