Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Beautiful Beauty and the Beast

11 Comments

Last night husband and I went to see the local high school production of Beauty and the Beast.  Several members of the community band I play with were either playing in the pit, singing and dancing on the stage or working lights from the booth.  What a treat.  So many talented kids.  Wonderful music, great costumes and sets merged with joyous laughter, thunderous applause and standing ovations.  Love poured from the group on stage to the audience and was tossed right back to the performers.

You see the best in a community when you watch an event like this.  The coordinated effort of students and adults creating something fine and good.  It was wonderful to watch.  And what of our favorite door?

She was adorable.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Beautiful Beauty and the Beast

  1. Were the furnishings of the Beast’s house animated, as they were in the famous French film version? Wonderful story, never out of date!

    Like

  2. Aren’t these high school performances FUN. Waldorf school make drama a part of the curriculum, so every student is a part of their classes plays and most of the classes produce something once a year with the big years being 10 and 12 grade. I look forward to all the performances…there are always some glitches or a few kids decide to derail the performance a bit on the second night and leave their classmates scrambling to improv…it creates a wonderful feeling and bond between the students and the community. Or as you put it so well–love pours from the stage to the audience and back again.

    Like

  3. how many plays have an adorable door? I bet she was she was just perfect 🙂

    Like

  4. I remember so many of these musicals from when Domer was in high school. Sadly, I don’t have any “excuse” to go any more (but, now that I think about it, I don’t have any excuse not to!!)

    Like

  5. High school musicals are always a labor of love. The kids create such happy memories, and they really become their own little family.

    Like

  6. I remember in High School we played a medley of Beauty of Beast songs. I got to play the Gaston song on the Baritone Horn, my part was like the solo part. I loved playing that song — it had a bunch of low notes and it had a great beat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

