Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

School Days

15 Comments

It’s a school day!  Katie says…..

Let's GO!

Let’s GO!

…”HURRY UP MAMA!”

So do you want to hear a cute story about school today?  You do?  Of course you do!

Over the past year I’ve had issues with Katie coming in straight when we do our recalls.  She sits at the heel position, I tell her to wait and walk all the way down to the other end of the mat, way across the big room.  Then I turn and she is supposed to wait till I call her to come, then run really fast and really straight and sit right in front of me.  If she gazes adoringly up at me that’s extra points.

She’s been sort of independent lately…she comes running straight at me and then sits crooked, her behind angled to the left.  Or she sits straight but just slightly offset to the right.  An excellent recall used to be something I could count on, but for weeks she’s been doing her own thing.  Obviously she’s getting some sort of cue from me.  So I try not to move at all while she’s running toward me.

This morning another dog had a small accident on the mat which the instructor cleaned up with a mop.  There was a  dark rectangle left behind before the mat dried completely.  None of the dogs running before Katie noticed.  Neither did I as I put her in a wait and walked down to the other end of the mat.

“COME!” I called, trying to remain as motionless as possible.  She raced toward me, happy grin on her face, fur flowing.  And when she got to the damp spot she daintily  pranced around the dark patch, then returned to the middle of the mat and continued on full speed to sit directly in front of me.  And eyed me adoringly.

I was trying so hard not to laugh.  A princess through and through Katie wasn’t going to get her pretty little feet wet by racing through that dark patch.  Not her.  Of course not.  Why was I surprised?

After all it’s my Katie-girl.

Yea I'm a princess.

Yea I’m a princess.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “School Days

  1. Hee, hee. Good girl Katie!

    Chewy would’ve done the same thing.

    Like

  2. Katie is fabulous and gorgeous. Xx

    Like

  3. Haha! Beware of strange dark patches encountered on recalls!

    Like

  4. That was a good story, Dawn. I chuckled audibly. Also noticed that Katie must do the same thing Sarah does–stick her whole face in the snow, following her nose to some delicious, hidden smell. We have a new descriptor for Sarah: “Criminally Cute.” Feel free to use it on your princess–if she’ll allow it!

    Like

  5. well a girl couldn’t get pee on her paws could she?????

    Like

  6. BOL, why get your feet wet when there is someplace that is dry.

    Like

  7. Haha, I like what Reilly said. Sometimes Eva lifts up one of front paws when she goes to toilet; I guess she doesn’t want her paws get dirty by herself. 🙂

    Good girl, Katie! You’re a true princess!

    Like

  8. Perhaps you’ve told Katie to “stay off the wet floor”? Perhaps she was just being a very good girl?

    Like

  9. Too Funny! But did the princess sit straight??

    Like

  10. Good girl, Katie! Dallas doesn’t like wet feeties, either.

    Like

  11. I don’t like to step in wet spots either, good girl Katie

    Like

  12. Super cute and very princess-y. It would be hard not to be proud even if it wasn’t “perfect.”

    Like

  13. That is very funny. Mind you, I can’t imagine either of my miscreants doing recalls, but if the Cowboy were to master such behavior, I’m sure he would . . . improvise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

