Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Wordless Wednesday

18 Comments

Wait!  I know it’s Wordless Wednesday…but I have words I want to say.  And you know I never quite know what day it is anyway.  So let me tell you about community band rehearsal last night.  Thanks to Ricky’s Mom I practiced at least 30 minutes every day this past week.  Even when I didn’t want to.  Some days it was an hour because I just got caught up in the music.  Well.  Only a couple times did it go beyond 30 minutes.  But still.

Just a moment.  A certain sheltie who will remain anonymous seems to need my attention….

There's something OUT THERE Mama!

There’s something OUT THERE Mama!

There's something OUT THERE Mama!

What?  Be quiet??? Really?

Pouting.

Pouting.

ZZZZ z z z..z...z...

ZZZZ z z z..z…z…

…so anyway…I was telling you about last night.  We’re a community band and we use a public school to get together every Tuesday night and practice.  We have a concert in a few weeks and the music is difficult.  So when I woke up to the news the public schools were closed due to icy back roads I just knew the director who is a public school band director would get us in the closed building.  I was right and she did, and more than that the school superintendent sent a custodian to open the building for us.  We are so grateful to have the support of the school administration.

We had a wonderful rehearsal.  Everyone showed up!  And you could tell people spent some time on the music since last week; things fell together and there were some nice sounds.  Some not so nice as well, but we have 3 more rehearsals so we can pound those out.

So thanks Ricky’s Mom!  For making me accountable to practice every single night.  I need to do that this week too, but I’m heading out of town this weekend.  That means I need to spend time with the music tonight and Thursday night for sure.

OK Katie.  Let’s go check out the scary rain before I head off to work.  Silly girl.

It's noisy Mama!

It’s noisy Mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday

  1. That rain stuff can be scary – especially going out in it and getting wet! Great job on the rehearsals!

    Like

  2. Good job Dawn!

    Katie, this is bad hair day weather…..stay inside.

    Like

  3. Awesome job Dawn! I am so happy that the practicing you did paid off! Playing in an ensemble is so much better when you feel confident about your own part!

    Like

  4. That rain is scary – Katie’s right!
    My husband has played guitar for over 15 years now, and I am always a little surprised at how much work it is. But then, I know there’s a reason I don’t play any kind of instrument…
    Here’s hoping you get your time in before the weekend!

    Like

  5. These Shelties of ours demand a lot of attention, don’t they? They just don’t seem to understand that we have things other than them that are important to us — probably because, to them, we’re their whole world! Glad you practiced and had a great rehearsal.

    Like

  6. What instrument do you play in the band Dawn? The idea of a community band sounds like a lot of fun. 🙂

    Like

  7. Do you play the clarinet for your puppies? Xx They are adorable.

    Like

  8. Thats so great that you rehearsed every night! You are a better person than my mom-person. When she was in school — she would always wait for the night before her lesson and then rehearse for like 2 hours straight. Bet the neighbors loved that – NOT!

    Like

  9. Does Katie sing with you when you practice?

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  10. I’m glsd it’s all coming together now and you’re all enjoying it. I was worried when you first started prscticing for this one! Ludo got freaked out recently when we had a sudden snow, it settled really quickly and melted the next moring. You could hear it faling off the roof and windows. Ludo was not happy!

    Like

  11. I’ll bet it did feel good to practice every night. Sometimes that little bit of extra discipline actually ends up making us happier. Glad you had fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

