Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Definition of winter

13 Comments

Car on the wall.

Car on the wall.

Scott has challenged us to show what winter means to us.     Since I live in Michigan I suppose you are expecting snowy photos.  But we don’t always have snow where I live near Detroit.  Maybe you expect to see wide expanses of frozen lake.  But our lakes don’t always freeze either.  So what does happen each year at the height of winter here?  Well, the North American International Auto Show happens in January, here in Detroit, every single year.  Even in the bad years the show went on. but you can tell the auto industry is on its way back by the size of the show this year. (Click on the photos to see the detail.)

Especially beautiful were some of the concept cars…

Concept cars stretch our imagination.

Concept cars stretch our imagination.

…and the extraordinarily expensive cars…

This Bentley was only $135,000.

This Bentley was only $135,000.

…and today’s version of muscle cars.

Life size hot wheel car.

Life size hot wheel car.

So many cars, so many choices.  It’s hard to choose!  How about one of each?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Definition of winter

  1. Very nice and interesting pictures!

    Like

  2. Oh Jeff would love to be there! Isn’t it amazing how a hunk of metal can draw our eye and make us swoon?

    Like

  3. Mommy went to a car show a long time ago. She was amazed at some of the displays. Like how they have a car spinning around on a platform like on a Carousel. And they had a jeep up on a fake rock — like it was climbing a mountain. Not sure if your car show had any displays like this — but that’s all Mommy seemed to remember when she went that one year.

    Like

  4. Cool cars and such vibrant colors!

    Like

  5. I’ll take an urban suv I think – in blue please 🙂

    Like

  6. Completely unexpected from the title, Dawn. Good show!

    Like

  7. Love your interpretation Dawn! I would definitely be showing frozen snowscapes, but I like how your mind went to your winter constant 🙂

    Like

  8. How original and creative ! A great post, Scott will love it. My Dad would love these photos too, he had been working for the GM many years ago, when cars were slightly bigger 😉 quite a change and a beautiful one too. Well done, Dawn !

    Like

  9. They always do a feature story from this car show on TV news, and I’ve always wanted to go and see the new models for myself. Thanks for bringing them to me!

    Like

  10. Now there is a different interpretation of winter! Enough with all this snow and ice and cold! Very cool shots!

    Like

  11. Good luck getting one of each! I enjoyed your original interpretation of Scott’s challenge. Good job, Dawn. Stay warm, even though you might not have snow…

    Like

  12. Pingback: Assignment 23: Recap | Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

