Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Acorn squash soup

13 Comments

Devious squash

Devious squash

I just finished reading Forks Over Knives, a book about eating only plant based foods.  It was interesting…but I don’t know if I could give up cheese.  Still….several of the recipes looked good, so I headed to the store and picked up some stuff to make the acorn squash soup.

Who knew that peeling 3 acorn squash could be so difficult?  The skin is hard!    I finally figured out that if I cut the squash into sections along the valley in the rind it was easier to peel.  But my fingers are still sore from gripping the vegetable peeler.

Katie was the unintended recipient of several small pieces of squash and peel.  She loved both.  I don’t know if that was because she doesn’t get people food and she thought this was special or because she really likes squash.  Could be she likes squash because I know she loves cabbage, apple, carrots and just about anything else that hits the floor.

The soup has the squash, a sweet potato and carrots plus ground ginger and sage.  It’s simmering now.

We’ll see.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Acorn squash soup

  1. I’m wondering if you have to peel the squash before cooking. I usually prefer to peel it after the squash has softened some. Either way, I love squash as much as Katie. We had some for lunch, and are going to have a different kind with dinner. (But I’m leaving the rind on!)
    PS – I don’t think I could give up cheese easily either. Meat, yes. Cheese…I just don’t know!

    Like

    • The recipe said peel and chop the squash, so that’s what I did. But it was tough. I was thinking maybe I’d roast it next time…it’s finished now and is excellent!

      Like

  2. Pssss there is an easy way to peel squash – just pop in the microwave for a few minutes – it softens the skin. Make sure you cut a whole in the top around the stem – don’t want it exploding everywhere. I love love love squash soup and squash risotto – but made with the butternut squash – don’t find acorn squash very nice at all.

    Like

    • Acorn is not my favorite for just cooking and eating…but this recipe really tastes good…it just got finished and I ate a small bowl. Excellent, but I might roast the squash first next time, save all that difficult peeling.

      Like

  3. Sounds like a lot of work. No doubt a plant diet is good for you, but I think planning meals could become a full time job.

    I might be able to give up cheese, if I was allowed to substitute it with buttercream frosting. Otherwise, not a chance!

    Hope you like the soup.

    Like

  4. Did seem like a lot of work…was discouraging about 1.5 squash into the chopping. But it turned out really nice. Will probably freeze well..but I’m taking some to a dinner tonight, so we’ll probably just eat the rest next week. Butter cream frosting? Yummy!

    Like

  5. I love baked acorn squash but I have never had it in soup. The peeling sounds like a good reason not to try! LOL!

    Like

  6. I bet it smells good. Soup usually does. Someone passed along a squash peeling tip to me. If only I could remember…well maybe by the time you make it again if it merits a do over. It didn’t make pealing it easy but it did make peeling it easier. Bon Apetite!

    Like

  7. I doesn’t think we gets acrn squash here but It sounds yucky so i bet Mum would like it. I doesn’t even like carrots that much.
    ~Lickies, Ludo

    Like

  8. We don’t have acorn squash and the closest one that I can get over here is the normal butter squash but all of them are so expensive. I don’t think I like plant diet though; it sounds so starchy and that’s one of the reasons I don’t eat much potatoes and pumpkins. Sweet potatoes are alrightish.

    But your soup sounds yummy!

    Like

  9. Sounds like u did a lot of hard work peeling that squash. Hope it was delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

