Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Confused weather

11 Comments

People down in Phoenix Arizona are suffering through unusually cold weather with temperatures at night hovering near freezing (32F,  0C).  I hear there is snow near Los Angles California   and this morning I saw it was -6 degrees F (-21.1 C) in Denver Colorado.  Yet here in Michigan we took down our Christmas lights on a balmy 50+F (10 C) afternoon.

Though the sky was overcast and the air felt damp we enjoyed our afternoon of packing away the lights.  Normally we are doing this with frozen fingers, bundled up in layers complete with hats and gloves.  Or worse, in blowing snow while tromping through drifts up to our knees.   We commented as we worked that it felt like we were in midwinter Alabama.  And we smiled.

Yet…there is this niggling worry in the back of my mind.  Though it’s easier to deal with outdoor winter tasks when it’s warm, it just feels wrong.  We had an unusually warm day when we put the lights up this past November too…and now are blessed with an easy dismantling.  Something just isn’t right.   Maybe I’m feeling unsettled because I just read Barbara Kingsolver’s latest book, “Flight Behavior” which revolves around the warming of our earth and the consequences wrought by barely discernible changes.  Maybe it’s because I remember winters as a kid where we dug snow caves and argued about whose turn it was to shovel the sidewalk.   So far this winter we’ve only used the snowblower once.  I don’t know if we used it all last winter.  Don’t get me wrong, part of me is grateful that I’m not driving to work in blizzards or shoveling the driveway.  But something just feels wrong.

Now I’ve probably gone and jinxed it, and likely tomorrow’s cold snap will feel more familiar.  And I suppose now there will be 6 or more inches of snow falling on Monday just in time for the morning commute.  But I think I’d be OK with all of that.

Remind me  I said this later on as the winter wears on — won’t you?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Confused weather

  1. It is weird but I am just going to enjoy it!

    Like

  2. w have had high 60’s for the last couple days – but it has also been raining nearly the whole time too – it is a bit crazy to say the least.

    Like

  3. I am with you on everything you said.

    Like

  4. Warm hear too. Now I have an ice rink in my yard. NO fun. I want my fluffy, clean snow back…….

    The weather is very scary to me. Our poor planet. We’ve ruined it.

    Like

  5. Well its not unusual for us to warm up and then get cold again. Its unusual for us to have snow. So will see what happens. I hope it doesnt get to cold. I dont like cold.

    Like

  6. We always joke about rain in ENGLAND but it just seems not to have stopped this year. Flooding all over the place.

    Like

  7. Yep, it’s downright hot here Dawn, but I’m in Australia, so it should be hot! I know how you feel about unseasonal weather though. As much as I complain about our hot summers here, it didn’t really begin to be uncomfortably warm until a couple of days ago, which is unheard of! I think we really do enjoy our “familiar” weather, regardless of how much we complain. 🙂

    Like

  8. I will be first in line to remind you 😉 We were warm up here, too, but it’s dropping freezing rain out there now – a good 90 minutes earlier than predicted, so I’m a happy girl. Of course, we didn’t decorate outside, so my light situation always happens with toasty fingers.

    Like

  9. My sweet Mother agreed to chair a tracking trial in Abq this weekend and it was 6 above when they arrived at the field. Fortunately she was not responsible for laying the track and could spend time in her heated van after setting up. I keep telling her next year she needs to winter in Chicago.

    I want cold and snow. I found this past summer unbearable so If you did jinx it you will never hear me complain

    Like

  10. It certainly has been confused weather, Dawn. After that week of early spring, it looks like winter is reasserting itself today. We’ll see… It’s interesting to hear the different reactions of people. Half the people seem upset about the strange weather patterns (lack of snow/ice/cold) and the other half are ecstatic. Go figure. Like you, I hope the earth is OK and that consequences won’t be too severe. It’s such a precious planet. We need to take care of her better.

    Like

  11. Sometimes we do hope we could have some extreme changes in our weather though; it’s kind of boring to have the same thing everyday from the first day of the year until the last day of the year. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

