Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The miracle roast

22 Comments

We’ve got a big family gathering here tomorrow afternoon.  Husband’s extended family is heading over for a get together and lots of food is waiting, almost ready!  My biggest worry was that the rib roast I ordered turned out to be too small when I picked it up yesterday.  “Oh well,” I thought, “everyone will just have to eat a lot of other stuff.”   Still.  It bothered me.  Last time we did this we barely had enough meat and the roast was larger.

Today I made the salads and the do ahead mashed potatoes, the sweet potatoes and ambrosia.  During all the preparation I realized I was running out of dish washing liquid.  Really?  I have to go to the store for soap?  I planned this project so well specifically to avoid that last minute dash to the store.  I really didn’t need anything, except that darn dish washing soap – and something for husband and I to eat today.

So I went to the grocery store which sits right next to a Subway sub shop.  The plan was to pick up the soap and then run over to the sub store and pick up dinner for us tonight.  In the grocery store I grabbed a couple things, bananas, stuff to make chili for later in the week…and guess what I found at the meat counter?  ANOTHER rib roast just exactly the right size to add to the one I ordered!  Tomorrow we will have enough meat!  What were the odds that I’d run out of something which would make me go to the store when I didn’t really want to go out and that there would be one roast just the perfect size waiting for me.  I muscled my way in between two women who were considering hamburger or pork and scooped that roast up.

And I sang along with the radio all the way home.   Perfect.  Like it was meant to be.

Which I’m sure it was.

Imported Photos 00037 (Small)

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “The miracle roast

  1. I love signs like that…certainly it was meant to be. Have a wonderful dinner!

    Like

  2. Oh, it’s the good karma paying you back for all your good deeds.

    Set a plate for me!

    Like

  3. Which shows you will the perfect lunch and everyone will be happy and well fed 🙂

    Like

  4. superb.
    i hope your meal was Puuurrfect. Xx

    Like

  5. Sara, Oreo, and Chewy said it so well! You earned it!

    Like

  6. Hooray for serendipity! Enjoy your family and your food perfection 🙂

    Like

  7. And are you more excited about finding the second roast, serendipitously, than you would have been over having bought a single roast the right size at the start? I’m betting the answer is yes. Nothing like having one’s anxiety relieved to make the heart sing! Have a great time with family, Dawn!

    Like

  8. Cool story! I love it when things work out like that. Looking forward to seeing the pictures!

    Like

  9. I think our friend Katybeth over at Odd (http://oddlovescompany.com/blog/) would call that synchronicity. Don’t you love it when it happens to you???

    Like

  10. That dinner sounds pawsome. We will come over if there are any leftovers ok.

    Like

Leave a Reply

