Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Happy New Year!

20 Comments

I just don’t feel any affinity for 2013.  The number itself seems awkward, unwieldy, just a bit off.  Where 2012 appeared to be a good, strong, well rounded and full number right from the start, 2013 seems rather empty and irregular.  Maybe the problem stems from the odd number itself or maybe I’m superstitious about the whole 13th of it all.  I don’t know.

I was unable to stay up to see 2012 out last night.  Part of that was my uncomfortable feeling about 2013 and part of it was that I was exhausted from crazy work.  Mostly I just wasn’t ready to let 2012 go.  I know there are many people – thousands of people – that are more than ready to move on.  People who survived Sandy, people who lost family members in any number of tragedies, people who are going to graduate in 2013, get married in 2013, have a child in 2013.  But me?  I don’t have a specific event planed for this new year; to me it appears as a long long beige tunnel the curves away into the future.  There’s no telling what’s out there waiting and it’s a bit unnerving.  It feels more comfortable to cling to the known, no matter how horrific some of it was, then move on into the beige.

I know, I know.  I’m responsible for colorizing my own beige world and 2013 will likely contain amazing and as yet unknown events.   And I also know that as I move into the year my feelings will settle down, my camera will be busy, my dog will sill make me laugh, work will be work, and my family will love me.

I was sound asleep when 2013 arrived, Katie and I snoring away when stupid neighbors began yelling and shooting off fireworks.  Katie barked and made all the crazy noise go away and we settled back to sleep.  I felt detached from the excitement, ambivalent about time marching on without me.  Mostly I felt annoyed.  But I’ll get over it.

I wish all of you a very very happy and healthy New Year.  Time to join all the thousands who are out walking and jogging and eating right because this is January 1.  I’ll go for a walk, track my points today.  Tomorrow?  Well tomorrow is January 2 and all bets are off.

Happy New Year to all of you!

Imported Photos 01164

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. For me, I can’t believe 2013 is here. My older daughter graduates from high school and goes on to college this year. How the heck did I get old enough for that to be happening? Has to be some mistake there, right? I agree 2013 is an odd feeling number, but we will find our way through it.
    Your new header is very colorful! Love raspberries!

    Like

  2. Before you know it, you’ll be well into 2013 and loving it. But then 2014 will be here, and all bets will be off again 😉 Hope you have a good one, Dawn.

    Like

  3. My Favorite Domer graduates in 2013, so it’s kind of a banner year for us! At first glance, though, “2013” looks odd, but if you’ll add the numbers in the year (2+0+1+3), you get an even number — does that make you feel better about it?? Happy New Year, however you choose to mark it!!

    Like

  4. For me, the new year is in September! That’s when I feel like I’m getting a fresh start, and wondering whether it will be a good or bad year.

    Yea, I’m not liking the number 2013 either.

    Like

  5. Symbolically 2013 has a lot to offer. It tells a story of a path that is just beginning (number one), and will lead to greatness in the expression of the union of opposites (number three).
    However, “Change is hard” and sometimes takes getting use “two”
    Happy New Year!

    Like

  6. Happy New Year, Dawn. It’s interesting how part of us just wants to stay with what’s comfortable and familiar. Yep, I get it. My brother texted in the middle of the night. We hardly get cell phone service here at the house so it was odd to receive a text. He said, “Happy New Year Sissy!” Heaven knows where he was…and what he was doing. It was good to know that he thought of his sissy.

    Like

  7. they do say that this year is the first time in 187 years that all the planets are in a romantic alignment. They say people are going to start putting people first again instead of just texting, emailing and such. Nice thought but I doubt it will happen.

    Like

  8. I didn’t think of 2013 being odd or anything until you mentioned it. Hmmm… now I am a little worried. Happy New Year any way! 🙂

    Like

  9. I still keep on writing 2012 instead of that 13; guess I either refuse to let 2012 go off or I reject to accept the coming of 2013.

    Well, whatever it is, Happy New Year to all of you!

    Like

  10. At random times during the year, I’ll sometimes stay up to or past midnight, but not often. And for the last several years, I’ve made it a point to be in bed before midnight on New Year’s Eve. In part because I don’t want to be out on the road on that night; in part because the dogs don’t bark at fireworks and parties once I’m in bed and especially if I’m asleep. Funny but true. So you’re not alone in being home & in bed early on that night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

