Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Can you kill virtual fish?

23 Comments

Husband and I have a large portion of his family coming here to this house next Sunday for dinner.  It’s the family Christmas thing that we do most years.  It’s just that this year we couldn’t find a weekend prior to Christmas when everyone with small kids could come…and that’s the point of it all..that the smallest cousins get to see each other and play together once in a long while.

So anyway.  I have a whole bunch of people coming here.  Next week.  For a meal.  I have stuff to do.  Lots of stuff and if I look around the house I see dust on everything and piles of books and papers and…just…stuff that needs to find permanent homes or the garbage.  Which means I should be up and doing v.s. sitting on sofa and surfing.  If you know what I mean.

But here I am over at a blog of a woman that does full time RVing which you all know is a secret (and not so secret) wish of mine.  And she has these little virtual fish over in her left sidebar.  Now I know that she’s currently not in her RV at all but visiting her kids for the holidays…so I thought I’d feed her fish.  And then I got worried that the green one never seemed to get any food, and the red one was more agressive and I started trying to make sure that the green one got some food and then I just put in a lot of food for everyone and THEN I started to worry if a person could kill a virtual goldfish by feeding it too much.

Which makes me the official master of housecleaning avoidance.

By a long shot.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

23 thoughts on “Can you kill virtual fish?

  1. I don’t know if virtual fish can die, but I’m pretty I’d kill any virtual house plant.

    Clean houses are for people with servants. Real people just throw every thing in a closet.

    Like

  2. Haha! You are in major denial and avoidance mode. I have room in my closets if you need it – 🙂

    Like

  3. Yes….you can indeed kill virtual fishes….sad isn’t it 🙂 but hey ….at least you don’t have to worry about some weird mutant fish growing in the sewers when you flush it down the virtual toilet.

    Like

  4. LOL, I thought I was the official master of housecleaning avoidance!

    Like

  5. Ha ha, laughing at this! NO, you can not kill virtual fish! (Although Reilly up above says you can…hmmm…) I do not like doing deep-down dusting and house cleaning and scrubbing bathtubs and such. Really can relate to this post. However AFTER it’s done it feels great, right? Keep telling yourself that without company you’d probably never clean fully. (That’s what I keep saying anyway.)

    Like

  6. Without company I would for SURE never clean. Used to be when I was younger I just moved once a year and that solved that.

    Like

  7. That is definitely the most original excuse I’ve ever heard for not getting around to cleaning the house. I’ll have to put my mind to the task of thinking up an equally good excuse. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  8. I didn’t even know there was such a thing as virtual fish! Just think of all the chores I could have avoided. And I agree with Kathy – if it weren’t for company, I’m not sure we’d ever clean out the tough places 😉 Hope your family visit is full of love and fun!

    Like

  9. I was amused. When I went to check on the fish the page came up unavailable ((at first) and I thought oh WOW you can kill virtual fish…so glad I wasn’t the last one to feed them. But no worries a few minutes later all was well. The hardest part is starting. I’m off to curl up with my fur and take a nap…good luck.

    Like

  10. Then again, people are really coming to be together, right? So how your house looks should matter not at all. The piles might need to be shoveled into buckets, boxes or baskets to make room, however. Have you an extra room those could be hidden in?

    Like

  11. Not to worry… I occasionally feed ‘Me and My Dog”s fish too, but never took the time to see which fish were eating or not. Pretty good reason to not clean. 🙂

    Like

  12. I like the idea of fish feeding!!!

    Like

  13. Rats! Now you’ve given me a new way to waste time, just what I needed, Dawn!! Thanks a bunch! Seriously, it’s pretty fun, isn’t it, especially knowing we can’t overfeed them?!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

