Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It finally happened

26 Comments

My husband and I went to see the movie “Lincoln” last weekend.  Which was, by the way, incredible.  I checked online before we left to find when and where it was playing and noted tickets were $8.  I guess not so much, but I remember when…..ah well.  I digress.

We stopped at a nearby restaurant and had dinner before the show.  We dawdled.  Talked.  But still we were an hour early for the movie.  So after we got our tickets and the requisite popcorn we sat in a couple chairs in the lobby and people watched.  I was just fiddling around with the tickets when I noticed this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADo you see it?  Right in the middle of the ticket.  Under the date.  First I noticed the price…$6.50.  Hmmm…maybe we were getting a matinee price.  But it wasn’t afternoon.  Then I saw it.

SENIOR

Really?  REALLY!?  We hadn’t asked for a senior price.  The guy at the ticket counter just looked at us and made the decision to give us a break.  We must look old.  I tried not to feel indignant and held myself back from marching over there and demanding to pay more money.  I stared at the ticket for a bit more, than showed it to my husband.

“Cool,” he said.  Hmmmmm…he has a point.

But we are not old.  Not by a long shot.  No way.

Imported Photos 01376 (Small)

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

26 thoughts on “It finally happened

  1. Being old is relative! When I buy beer at the grocery store the youngsters don’t card me, but the forty/fifty something clerks do ~ which always provokes my response, “I’m old as dirt!”

    You only get old when you stop playing, and I know you’re not done playing yet! Katie makes sure of that.

    Like

  2. I guess you don’t get carded for beer anymore either. BOL.

    Not sure what age one becomes a senior.

    The age of the body and the age of the heart are two different things. We’ve known people in their 80s that are just as dumb as they were in their 20s.

    Essex, Sherman & Dog Dad

    Like

  3. Your headline scared me. I’m glad that what finally happened was a price break on movie tickets. What’s interesting about senior discounts (to me) is that they kick in at different ages in different places–sometimes as young as 50 you’re a “senior”! So that’s how I like to think about it. Yes, I am over 50.

    Like

  4. Wow, another life-changing moment! Well, once I realized that AARP considers one to be eliigible fo membership in one’s 50s and that gives one a ton of discounts, I went with the flow.

    Like

  5. Dawn, this is a hoot! I guess it goes to show we all make assumptions about others every day, and age is relative. Still, let’s just say you finally got a price break, regardless of the label attached to it! And the movie was good, wasn’t it?! And you wouldn’t have enjoyed it more if you’d had to pay more to see it, right?!

    Like

  6. Just think u can buy a bag of dog treats with the savings on those movie tickets.

    Like

  7. I admit I am pretty seriously amused right now 🙂 And I agree about age being relative. I think I would feel even younger with that discount!

    Like

  8. Of-course you aren’t old! I hope you ate milk duds, popcorn, and downed an orange slushi to prove it! The truth is the kids who sell the tickets are so young and well between us not terrible bright. 😀

    Like

  9. In a world where we get over charged and ripped off all the time …I m quite happy to get given the senior discount 🙂

    Like

  10. How old to you have to be to get senior rates?? Just went to Les Miserables two nights ago and no one carded. Or anti-carded. errr. It was expensive. Tickets PLUS popcorn and diet coke = almost $20. Had to choose between Lincoln, the Hobbit and Les Miz. Sounds like you had a fun night, Dawn.

    Like

  11. Omgggg, we were just talking about this!

    My friend, who is 49, went into MacDonalds and a little shit asked if she wanted Senior discount!

    She was sooo upset.

    but then we laughed our butts off! Xx

    Like

  12. I thought Lincoln was excellent also. As to be taken for a senior – that first happened to me long before I thought I was a senior at a JoAnn’s store – but then I learned that “senior” begins at various ages, some as young as 52. Now, I just figure one needs to take every advantage presented. Besides, age is relative and attitude is what counts.

    Like

  13. You are only as old as you feel. Lol, then I’m in trouble. Many days every part of my body hurts and I haven’t even gotten out of bed yet. It’s a hard row getting old. I put on my moms reading glasses and couldn’t see a thing. So the good news is my vision isn’t that bad, the bad news is its going to get a lot worse. Lol
    I hope you forgot about the “senior discount ” after the movie. You didn’t ???? See you are not a senior. Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

