Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Your ‘one place’

30 Comments

I was wandering around in blog-land -you know how that goes – you check someone’s blog, and they talk about another blog and you go there, and then over there, and the next thing you know you’ve found something interesting that makes you stop and think.   That’s what happened tonight.  It was an old blog entry I ended up visiting; a guy writing about traveling to your ‘one place,’   a place you’ve never been but would like to see before you die.  Sort of a one bucket bucket list.

You all know how much I love to travel, how I yearn for travel when I’m trapped in my beige cubicle, how I believe I was born a nomad.  So this concept intrigues me.  He writes about putting together a plan to see your ‘one place’ and his plan makes sense to me…take it in small steps and you’re very likely to make your dream come true.

So.  Where would my ‘one place’ be?  I’m thinking about it.  Where in the whole world would I really like to visit, somewhere I’ve never been, somewhere I wouldn’t likely go unless I actively planned?  I’m struggling with this, which surprises me.  For someone who wants to go go go it seems odd that I can’t put my finger on my very own one place.

Where would your one place be?

Northport 2008 253

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

30 thoughts on “Your ‘one place’

  1. How about visiting some far far east land? Eva loves visitors!!!

    Like

  2. I was lucky enough to grow up in a trailer and we travelled all over Australia following the fruit picking seasons etc…….my family also has gypsy heritage in it so I figured it was just a natural part of me this constant wanderlust or “itchy feet” as we call it. I have been lucky enough to travel to many parts in the world too……but even I would have trouble picking one spot…..there is just so many “one” spots I still want to see. So I do the next best thing…I pick “one” spot each year. It also doesn’t have to be far away or exotic even…next year I want to see New Hampshire where the movie “on golden pond” was filmed. One of my other dreams was to stay at the “grand hotel” on mackinac island ……fell in love with that after I watched the movie “somewhere in time” ….did that the first year I lived here in the USA. Go for it I say…..the memories you create will last a lifetime.

    Like

    • I have lived in Michigan my whole life and never stayed at the Grand Hotel. When I was a kid we walked on the porch…but now you can’t do that unless you’re staying there. It would be a good place to visit.

      Like

  3. Hmmm, Dad is a bit of a contradiction. While he has always wanted to visit Oz, he doesn’t have the itchy travel feet. He likes to visit friends and spending time with them.

    Like

  4. Easy. Bora Bora. Or maybe Taiwan. Or Greece? OK, this isn’t easy.

    Like

  5. For me it was definitely, all my life, Paris. I finally got there and then went back repeatedly. Now it’s been 12 years–far too long!–since I’ve been there. There is also a little rural village in China that I “visited” over and over via a series called (I believe I’ve got the title right) “The Heart of the Dragon.” The name of the village sounded like Mao Ping. I guess if we’re talking about faraway dream places we’ve never seen, that would be my one place.

    Like

  6. I always wanted to travel but as I got older, I just want to stay put. Maybe home is my one place and I am lucky enough to have gone there and stayed.

    Like

  7. Mommy doesn’t want to go anywhere! She just wants to stay home with us dogs, that is, when she doesn’t have to go to work. She’s already been to Disney World twice — they don’t mention on TV about the long wait in lines for the rides at Disney — and how packed the park is. Guess Mommy is just weird, she just wants to stay home and doesn’t dream about going anywhere.

    Like

  8. When I was a kid, since my mom does not like to fly, we packed up the car and saw almost all the states. We did fly to Hawaii :-D. And while I remember reading a lot in the backseat of the car, I also remember some pretty amazing sights. So maybe the “one place” could be the good old USA. I have loved traveling oversees but traveling state side has a lot to offer.

    Like

    • We did that too, growing up, and I’ve seen a lot of the US…but not all of it…woke up in the middle of the night thinking of one city I’ve always wanted to visit….can’t decide for sure yet.

      Like

  9. Like PJ above, my place has always been Paris. I dreamed of it taking French lessons in high school. I planned to be a French teacher for a while, but dropped that idea when I felt my French wasn’t fluent enough and improving enough. Unlike PJ, I have never been and I still want to. Definitely on my bucket list.

    Like

    • Did you read the guy’s post about the ‘one place?’ It’s something that is do-able…especially Paris. You’d love it even if all you had was a few days. See if you can move it up the list…

      Like

  10. Ireland!! Land of the leprechauns and shamrocks. Everything green green green! That’s gotta be my No. 1 place to go — with Italy coming in second. And Hawaii third. I must have been born a nomad, too!

    Like

    • Ireland, ey?! I’d say that was your ‘one place’ since it came to you so quickly and so surely. I have been to Italy though….and it was AMAZING….so it might be hard to choose. Also Hawaii…totally amazing…gee…well…the post said you could have a ‘one place’ and get there and then choose ANOTHER ‘one place’ so I say…you can have them all!

      Like

  11. I have a long list, and I don’t know that there’s any one place that would satisfy me above all others. Everywhere I’ve been I want to go back to, and everywhere I’ve not been, I want to go. I’m trying to convince myself that Glacier National Park is high on the list, because it’ll soon be Used-to-be-Glaciers National Park, but dunno, haven’t been to france, spain, china, russia, brazil, central america–Teguchigulpa in particular, I mean, after you’ve heard that name, how could you not want to go there? — everywhere in the US I haven’t been (which admittedly I’ve seen a lot of), more of canada, more of asutralia, new zealand… OK, everywhere.

    Like

    • I think that’s partly my problem…I want to see so much. I had to look up where Teguchigulpa is…interesting. You’ve been to the bottom of the Grand Canyon, or close…and that’s somewhere I’d like to go. So hard to choose.

      Like

  12. I’m not sure I could narrow it down to one place – and any place I would pick would be far away because I would pick a place that would seem an impossibility, and I think anywhere in the US would be possible, at one point or another. Maybe I could pick a destination like a “road trip” followed by all the places that trip would take me to and call it one place?

    Like

  13. Slow savings…yes. The guy said he found out you could get to and from just about anywhere for $2500…so that’s $2.00 a day for the three years he plans for trips….

    Like

  14. Well, now you’ve brought up another memory, Dawn. The year was 1988, and physicist Richard Feynman had just died. I hadn’t heard of him before but caught a most riveting story about him on NPR, an interview with his friend, Ralph Leighton, about the dream trip the two of them planned for years to a country in the middle (geographic center) of Asia that had become a part of the Soviet Union. The two wrote many letters asking for permission to travel to Tuva, and the visas only came through after Feynman had succumbed to cancer, but Wikipedia says that “the attempt to travel to Tuva is an allegory for Feynman’s perpetual curiosity to discover new things, and how he inspired his friends, admirers and protégés to do the same.” Following Feynman’s death, Leighton did make the trip to Tuva, and the book TUVA OR BUST tells that story. I remember Leighton in the interview telling about a famous Russian film coming to Tuva and how incensed local viewers were over the legendary sequence in the movie showing people’s feet on a long, steep set of steps: “We paid full price! We want to see whole persons!” Tuva was Feynman’s ‘one place.’

    Like

    • Aww…how sadly sweet. It reinforces the idea that we have to go for that ‘one place’ we all have hidden somewhere deep inside. And that we would be so lucky to have a friend that would go there in our place if we were no longer able.

      Like

  15. I’m not sure about picking one place, either, Dawn. Years ago I would have named some place but now they all feel precious. And, strangely enough, having so enjoyed travel all these years, I feel much happier to settle roots into the earth at home more often. (Except when visiting family. Or if we win the lottery.) This was a lovely post to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

