Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Rally day

11 Comments

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEvery time I sign Katie (and me) up for an event I wonder as I’m waiting for our turn why oh why I put myself in such stressful places.  Then she looks at me and grins just before the judge says “Ready?”   And I say “Ready!” and off we go.

Today’s event was no different, I wondered again why this was a good idea as I got up at 5:30 and packed Katie’s provisions.  As we left in the dark to drive the hour over to East Lansing in the rain I was sure this was a silly idea.  Katie doesn’t care if she has a title.  When the rain turned to snow as we neared East Lansing I was sure the whole thing was ridiculous.  But I was supposed to help a dog obedience classmate in his very first trial, so there was no turning back.  Which in the end is good because we earned the second leg of the three we need to become titled in Advanced Rally.

There’s a video over on Facebook.  Somewhere we did a station wrong, because our score was 88 out of 100, but I”ll take it.  It’s a Q and we only  have to do this once more for her Advanced title.

Of course there’s Excellent after that.  If we want to go for it.  And Obedience.  We haven’t started that yet.  Though I was watching some obedience rings today and kept thinking…”Well Katie can do that.”  So I suppose there are going to be a few more early mornings when I wonder just what I’ve gotten us into.  Probably will.  She’s sleeping now.

Good girl.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Rally day

  1. How wonderful! I love the photo of you two with the judge. You color coordinated and everything.

    You guys rock. Off to facebook to see the video 🙂

    Like

  2. I know! Wasn’t that cool that she wore red too!

    Like

  3. Way to go…we knew you could do it. Dogs can teach us one very important thing….live in the moment…for in that moment you were awesome!

    Like

  4. Congratulations! Leg 2! Dog showing is addictive, fun and everyone who has ever snapped a leash on their dog and waked into the ring shares your sentiments.
    Did you see the picture of my mothers flyer? This could be you and Katie one day, just sayin…..
    http://oddlovescompany.com/2012/11/its-a-flying-doberman/
    When is the next show?

    Like

  5. I’m really impressed at the way you keep up with Katie’s events and with your music. It can’t be easy getting yourself to go time after time, after working all week, but doesn’t it feel great, and aren’t you glad that you went ahead and did it? CONGRATULATIONS!

    Like

  6. Isn’t it amazing that Katie has brought you so much fun and got you a different perspective on life?

    The red outfits were gorgeous!

    Like

  7. Cute pic! I think having something like this to get out and do is great. We all need things to get us out of the house and out of the usual routine.

    Like

  8. GOOD for both of you!!

    Like

  9. Sounds like u did well. Congratulations.

    Like

  10. Congratulations! It’s amazing how many times in life one thinks that one doesn’t want to do something, but obligations force you into it and it turns out for the best. Katie could do anything, based on her efforts to do all your commands the other evening even when you weren’t talking directly to her. Clever girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

