Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The pond – a twelve month study

18 Comments

Inspired by Sara who is documenting the gulch behind her home, I decided last January to take a photo of the neighbor’s pond on the first Saturday of each month.  I’ve posted January through April, and then May through August.  Yesterday was the first Saturday in December, so this morning I took the last photo.  I’d been hoping for snow so that the December photo would look different from the November photo, but I won’t complain about the 50 degree weather we’re enjoying.

So here is the pond as it looked on the first Saturday all year long.  Remember to click on any photo to see more details.

January

January

February

February

March

March

April

April

May

May

June

June

July

July

August

August

September

September

October

October

November

November

December

December

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “The pond – a twelve month study

  1. Love, love, love!!!!! What a dynamic place. So, pretty no matter the month.

    Like

  2. Even without the snow, it definitely looks different from November to December. Great idea, Dawn. Fun to see an entire year of seasonly change.

    Like

  3. Your pond is beautiful all year long, like Sara’s gully. I think I like June the best – green and full of the promise of summer!

    Like

  4. Bowsers. The December paw-to-graph looks dreary.

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  5. Wow the March –> April transition is impressive!

    Like

  6. That is cool!

    Like

  7. I love this! Thanks for keeping up with it all year!!

    Like

  8. Isn’t it glorious! There’s something about November that particularly appeals to me.

    Like

  9. What a fabulous idea, capturing the same place for an entire year! I love how the seasons change the pond’s trees, from the barrenness of winter to the lush greenness of summer. You’ve done a great job here, Dawn, and I thank you for sharing such lovely photos.

    Like

  10. What a great idea, Dawn! June and October look awfully good to me. Actually, December looks good, too. (I didn’t mind at all going outdoors with Sarah today and not having to fight a fierce, cold wind.) Did you record the time of day you did each photo? Very, very nice story in images. Beautiful!

    Like

  11. How fun to watch the changes! And how funny that January and February were snowless, and then there was March – followed by an April with spring busting out all over.

    Like

  12. They turned out beautiful!! I cant tell which is my favorite.

    Like

  13. How wonderful that you have such a beautiful pond nearby! I love July the most, it’s bright, sunny and full of life.

    Like

  14. Wow Dawn! I love this. I think I remember a post at about the half way mark wondering if it was worth it….was it ever! Hope you turn those pictures into a wonderful collage.

    Like

  15. What a wonderful gift for your neighbors!

    Like

  16. I looked through the thumbnails when you posted this but had to come back when I had more time to look at each one individually. It’s amazing how different every month is! Even June/July, which are the most similar, are still different in quite a few ways. Nice work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

