Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

In a land far away

10 Comments

Early morning at the lake.

I am back from four days ‘away’ and it feels like I was gone a week.  That’s a good thing.
It’s hard to describe what it’s like to go from stressful work filled ‘here’ to sunny shiny watered ‘there.’ (Click the photos to see the details.)

Calm

There is always the underlying sadness that very special people are no longer there.  But still it was very good to be South.

Magical

We visited wonderful places, ate wonderful food, played wonderful music and slept until we woke up.

Yum

I couldn’t ask for more.  Except to have Mom and Dad there too.

Missing

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “In a land far away

  1. Sounds like a wonderful break from life up north!

    Like

  2. But the memories live on forever 🙂

    Like

  3. “Being there in spirit” isn’t quite the same as actually being there, is it. The chairs image is lovely and haunting. The pie photo is so good that I want to cut a piece and have some.

    Like

  4. I love the photo of the Spanish moss!! I’m glad you got a chance to get south — it’s always special to reconnect with one’s roots. But, my heart hurts for you not having your parents around to enjoy the holidays with. It’s been nearly four years since my dad passed away, and I still miss him. It’s a good thing we can always carry our memories around with us, isn’t it?!

    Like

  5. Sounds like a wonderful trip. Beautiful pictures. One day our chair will be empty too and if we live our lives well as your parents obviously did…our loved ones will wish we were still with them and remember us by retelling the stories, laughter and tears we shared for much to short a time.

    Like

  6. A dear friend once said to me that yes, holidays are about family but they are also about loss. Glad you were able to enjoy your break but sending hugs your way, too.

    Like

  7. So glad you got away from work for a little while.

    Like

  8. I’m glad you got away, Dawn, and enjoyed being away from the stress of your work life. 🙂

    Like

  9. Sounds fantastic! I have no doubt that your parents were sitting around that table too.

    That photo of the spanish moss looks like an oil painting! I would love to get lost in a place like that.

    Like

  10. What a lovely break! You will always miss your parents, but they will always be happy when you are happy. They would want you to continue to go forward, remembering them with love, not sadness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

