Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Quiet weekend

21 Comments

We spent the weekend working on projects around the house, taking care of a neighbor’s cat while they were out of town and taking advantage of unseasonably warm weather to put up outdoor Christmas lights.

It was nice.

Early morning peace.

This weekend was the calm before the holiday storm.   Crazy people are camping outside retails stores to be the first shoppers on Black Friday…and some stores are even opening on Thanksgiving night.  As usual I will not be in those lines, nor shopping for things no one needs.  I’ll be spending next weekend with siblings; goofing off, cooking, taking walks up mountains, pictures and naps.

If you’re spending next Friday shopping for stuff….well…enjoy.  To each his own.

And I do appreciate your efforts to turn our economy around.  Yes I do.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Quiet weekend

  1. Sometimes I go shopping “with the girls” on Black Friday, and it’s a fun way to enjoy a bit of female family time. This year, we may be tiling and painting. Who knows? Hope you enjoy your family in my favorite way to spend time together 🙂

    Like

    • Always good to have a long weekend if you’re going to tile and paint. Hope you have time to eat some wonderful food as well! I remember one Thanksgiving years ago when husband I spent it in the rain moving wheelbarrows full of clay from a pile to fill in a crawl space. Was miserable. Neighbor lady we had never met brought us leftovers from her meal. We’ve been friends ever since. That just may make it into a blog post now that I think about it!

      Like

  2. LOL, normally I agree. But Stephanie needs a TV. So she will be out there with someone. I hope its not me. LOL

    Like

  3. We did some outdoor projects, too, on this beautiful, balmy, sunny day. My plan for Friday is to be in my bookstore, putting up my tree–but first I have to find one! Had a balsam fir last year and loved it so much that I’ve got my heart set on another. Went for a drive this afternoon but didn’t see any trees for sale yet along the country roads. I may need to call some friends tomorrow. Happy Thanksgiving, Dawn! Oh, and P.S. The reason I always plan to be putting up the tree on Friday is because it’s the day the crowds stream into the “city” to shop the big stores. On Saturday some of them may stay in the village and wander around my way.

    Like

  4. I love the fact that Nordstroms is not putting up any Christmas decorations until after Thanksgiving. “They believe you should celebrate one holiday at a time.” It may be mostly a marketing ploy but it is a good one. I can’t imagine there is anything I would want bad enough to camp out for or brave the Friday crowds. I take naps, eat left overs and enjoy the company of good friends. However, like you, I am fine with letting others shop til they drop.

    Like

  5. Sounds like a great weekend planned.

    The only store I plan on hitting is tractor supply, and only because a 40pound bag of black oil sunflower is $20 on friday. The store is in the middle of nowhere, so I’m hoping for no crazy people 🙂

    Like

  6. Hey, did you see 60 minutes last night? The last segment was about Michigan’s football team. Reminded me of you, and the post you wrote recently about going to the game, then a concert afterward.

    Like

    • Yes we did see that. Funny, Husband said he doubted anyone younger than us even watches 60 min..and there you are! UM football record this year does not indicate they did any practicing at all…but there you go…some seasons are like that.

      Like

  7. Sounds like you had the perfect weekend! I will not be shopping on Black Friday either. Does not sound fun to me at all!

    Shhh……we don’t mention Michigan football around here! LOL!

    Like

  8. I don’t shop on Black Friday either. It’s not my idea of fun. Your morning images are beautiful. 🙂

    Like

  9. I must admit most of my weekends are quiet – we are not into the whole thanksgiving and christmas thing or any holiday for that matter. I don’t get that whole black friday shopping thing either – why get out of bad just so I can get stomped on while trying to get one of the 5 items they have on sale – I don’t get why people fall for that every year – but they do!

    Like

  10. I will be with the dogs in our first nosework seminar friday and saturday. That’s OK–we have Too Much Stuff now anyway; what could we possibly want to buy?

    Like

  11. I did the outside Christmas decorating, too — great minds run on the same track, don’t they? And I’m right there with you avoiding the Black Friday craziness. When I was a reporter, I always had to cover that, interviewing shoppers and store clerks on what folks were buying, how long they’d waited in line, etc. That was enough madness for me!

    Like

  12. Love your peaceful morning – the antithesis of Black Friday. I’m pretty sure it’s called that because it can’t possibly be a happy time shopping in those crowds. Not for me.

    Like

  13. Remember ice skating downtown after Thanksgiving?

    Like

  14. I hope you’re having a wonderful time with your brothers and sisters, Dawn. Do you think the last of the warm autumn weather is behind us?

    Like

Leave a Reply

