Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

November blues

24 Comments

I went out on a cold rainy grey November day to find something for Scott’s color composition challenge.  The day before had been warm and sunny but I didn’t venture out with the camera.  Too obvious and too sensible.

One of the articles Scott provided for reference talked about the meaning of color, how you can sometimes use color to set a mood for a photo.  I guess I’ve been feeling kind of sad that the summer has ended and winter is right around the corner, because every bit of color I found that day was blue.   I’m not saying that the blue in each photo set the mood for the photo…just that it was what I noticed on this day.  (Click on the picture to see the details.)

My first stop was at a historic church.  I pass this church every Tuesday on my to and from band rehearsal and I’ve never noticed it.  At our last rehearsal I saw with shock that someone had painted the front door and knew I had to come back with a camera.

The color composition challenge was a perfect excuse to stop and get  that shot. I started out focusing on the door itself, then tried to get the steeple and the door in the frame.  But as I walked back to the car I looked back and knew the whole church needed to be included – because the transformation of the door only worked when it was shown against the disrepair of the entire building.  I placed the door near the intersection of the rule of thirds lines.

Historic Presbyterian Church gets a small facelift.

Continuing on with my errands I passed an old schoolhouse that has been painted many many times.  Long after the last schoolchild left it was run as a restaurant and catering business, but that closed years ago and now it sits empty.  Through the rain I noticed the bell tower with it’s multiple layers of paint showing a bit of it’s history.  Again the blue caught my eye, and I tried to have it take up 2/3rds of the image.

Years of schoolhouse colors.

And as I made my way home I noticed the local ski hill.  No snow yet, but there was more blue.  I had to climb down a muddy hill and ruined a pair of shoes to get this.  But I really enjoyed the way the blue ski lift moves from the lower left and climbs up to the upper right of the shot, reflecting the angle of the hill.

Ready for the ski season.

Yep, it was a blue kind of day.  But I can’t say that was all due to fall moving into winter.  After all I found this blue last spring at my local nursery.

Blue pots

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

24 thoughts on “November blues

  1. All cool blue photos but sorry about the shoes – 🙂

    Like

  2. Dawn, these photographs are terrific! I would give you the prize and especially like the composition of the first two. Good work!

    Like

  3. I really like the story you tell about the church. The blue door really does stand out. Nice job capturing that!

    Like

    • I like the church too. It’s supposed to be in the process of renovation, based on the sign on the back door, but I have never seen anything beyond this door.

      Like

  4. Dawn, I like your blue photos, especially the one of the church door. It almost looks as if they ran out of money before proceeding with the renovation! Because our winters sometimes seem to linger forever, we find ourselves dreading them — I try to focus instead on the good things about winter, such as the holidays and the brilliant sunshine in a south-facing window!

    Like

  5. your photos are great, and I think the blue reflects the peace in each of your images. Quiet countryside, quiet color stating its presence softly, rather than shouting at you.

    Like

  6. I like all these shots! The ski lift one, when you look at the larger version, also has two flashes of red that are neat among all that blue and green.

    Like

    • You are right. I like the blue ski lifts against the blue spruce trees too…and there’s quite a bit of red in the shrubs and ground as well. Kind of a nice combination.

      Like

  7. I really love the old schoolhouse. They are always a treat to spot anywhere! I love to imagine the kids sitting in their desks with their slates (I think I’ve watched one too many episodes of Little House on the Prairie).

    I wonder if the rest of the church will be getting a facelift as well?

    Like

  8. I hate winter. The pictures are just wonderful!!

    Like

  9. Wonderful blue post ! a striking colour in the November mood. I imagine the blue ski lift in the snow… like in a fairy tale. Great pictures, well composed, bravo !

    Like

  10. This is a really cool post! I love how you took on Scott’s challenge and turned it into a specific-color focus. I like the ski-lift the best – a very unique view. Too bad about the shoes!

    Like

  11. Cool Blue! Loved the bright blue door on the church. I have a coffee table books of “doors” in Chicago and I just love it. Ski lift is fun too. Suppose to be a snowy winter but not a really cold winter—does that mean slush? I prefer to think not–that would make me BLUE.
    Love that you are willing to sacrifice a pair of shoes to have the adventure and take the picture!

    Like

  12. I like the use of the single color for the assignment. Very cool idea. I like the ski lift image the best.

    Like

  13. That sure is a lot of blue.

    Like

  14. Pingback: Assignment 22: Recap | Views Infinitum

  15. I love your idea of using the cold color, blue, a symbol of winter, as a theme in this assignment!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

