Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Color composition photo challenge.

11 Comments

Scott has issued his latest challenge…to work color into a photo as a composition element.  I think back to a summer challenge from Karma that was all about color, but now here it is November in Michigan.  Where to find that pop of color that deliberately pulls the eye?

I could go into the archives and see what there is.  Surely in the Albuquerque photos there would be something.

Or along our great lakes?

Anything?

But no, this is about challenging us to consciously use color in a composition.  I need to look around and see what I can find.   The assignment is due Wednesday the 21st of November.  Go read more at Scott’s blog right away!

Jump on in…the color’s wonderful!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Color composition photo challenge.

  1. I just said to Jeff today that I can’t wait to see the cardinals against the white, white snow. I can’t think of a more beautiful contrast, especially in the dead of winter.

    Of course, I’m not wishing for snow…..yet.

    Like

  2. Me either…wishing for snow…still the dreary brown of November is getting old. But our grass is still green…and the birch trees still glow in the morning light…

    Like

  3. Thanks for turning me on to this; I’ve been thinking about it quite a bit.
    I love our lakes, but they are much tamer in color this time of year. Something about the amount and angle of light. I think your fruit picture shows the most clear use of color in composition.

    Like

  4. Cardinals against the snow are so beautiful! I like your lake photo so much! We are getting to that dreary time of year.

    Like

  5. Cold, dull, wet, winter and snow! I hope I can send you some sunshine, warmth and colours of summer!

    Loving your great lakes picture! It is great!

    Like

  6. Thank you for the linkback, Dawn. I hope you and some of your readers will take a shot (pun intended) at this assignment. I do like the cardinal idea…the trick is to think of how to use color in the composition. Something I thought I did often but found I rarely do.

    Like

    • Definitely harder than you’d think. I went out on a cold rainy day today to see where I could find some color. I’m debating which shot to use. Or whether I’ll go out again. We’ll see.

      Like

  7. I’m sure you’ll find something – and that the search will be fun!

    Like

  8. I think all of these could work, Dawn. Good luck finding some color in this black-and-white (and gray) world of ours! Of course, b&w and gray ARE colors, aren’t they? 🙂

    Like

  9. I like all of these! Good eye! I might have to be inspired by this and go looking for some of my own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

