Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Falling gold

2 Comments

This morning I got up early even though I don’t have a class till 4. I needed desperately to work on two classes; a presentation I am making on Monday for a digital library class and reading in preparation for a group meeting tonight on the infamous and dreaded consolidated sequence model. If you don’t know what either of these are, you are likely a very happy and contented person.

I was working before the sun came up, and completed one of the projects enough that I can meet intelligently with my group. (Maybe, if I meet with them soon before I forget!) I went out of the home office and into the breakfast room where I had dropped the bookbag off the night before. The sun was just topping the trees and there was the most beautiful site in the window just for me.

We had a freeze last night, and as the sun was warming the golden leaves of the birch trees outside the leaves were dropping off and falling straight down to the ground. As if the trees were dripping gold. Multitude of leaves were falling from all over the tree. I looked out at the back yard and it was the same. Gentle falling drops of gold, illuminated by the slowly rising sun.

And just outside my kitchen window two bright, cherry red cardinals were patiently waiting their turn at the birdfeeder which was occupied by a very large bluejay. The cardinals looked like the candy apple of a new car, and the golden leaves were falling all around them.

If I had still been a working stiff I never would have seen this sight. I would have been long gone, driving in the dark on crowded freeways to sit in an office (that granted had a window, but no view!) handling other people’s problems.

Even with group work, presentations, confusing theories and massive amounts of boring reading, I again realize I am blessed.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

2 thoughts on “Falling gold

  1. a living picture worthy of becoming a most beautiful Christmas card.

    Like

  2. Pingback: In between. And food. | Change Is Hard

Leave a Reply

